McAndrews, Held & Malloy Supports Fifth Annual Supreme Court IP Review at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law


Intellectual property practitioners, jurists, legal academics and law students will review IP cases from the U.S. Supreme Court’s previous term, a preview of cases on the docket for the upcoming term, and a discussion of cert. petitions to watch at the fifth annual Supreme Court IP Review (SCIPR) on Friday, September 12, 2014. McAndrews shareholder Scott P. McBride will moderate the “Petrella v. MGM (can laches bar a copyright claim within the three-year statute of limitations)” panel at the event, which is also sponsored in part by the firm.

SCIPR is the only annual conference in the country focused exclusively on intellectual property cases before the Supreme Court. This year’s keynote address, titled “Stalemate or Statesmen? What Is Needed to Move Forward Constructively with the Balancing of America’s IP System,” will be delivered by David Kappos, former director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Additional speakers include top Supreme Court advocates from the parties and amici curiae, leading academics from around the country, and knowledge IP practitioners at national law firms. In panel discussions throughout the one-day event, speakers will address the 10 IP cases from the Supreme Court’s October 2013 term:

  • ABC v. Aereo
  • Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank
  • Highmark v. Allcare Health Management System
  • Lexmark Int’l v. Static Control Components
  • Limelight Networks v. Akamai Technologies
  • Medtronic v. Boston Scientific
  • Nautilus v. Biosig Instruments
  • Octane Fitness v. Icon Health & Fitness
  • Petrella v. MGM
  • POM Wonderful v. Coca-Cola

Participating IP practitioners include:

  • Scott Burow, Banner & Witcoff
  • David Clough, Morgan Lewis & Bockius
  • Grantland Drutchas, McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff
  • David Frederick, Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel
  • Jameson Jones, Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott
  • Bart Lazar, Seyfarth Shaw
  • Thomas Pasternak, Steptoe & Johnson
  • Dominic Perella, Hogan Lovells
  • Mark Perry, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
  • J.C. Rozendaal, Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel
  • Thomas Saunders, WilmerHale
  • Paul Smith, Jenner & Block
  • Scott McBride, McAndrews, Held & Malloy
  • Rudolph Telscher, Harness, Dickey & Pierce
  • Constantine Trela, Jr., Sidley Austin
  • John Vandenberg, Klarquist Sparkman

Participating legal scholars include:

  • Stephanos Bibas, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Rebecca Eisenberg, University of Michigan Law School
  • Cynthia Ho, Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • Timothy Holbrook, Emory University School of Law
  • Edward Lee, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Ronald Mann, Columbia Law School
  • Peter Menell, University of California Berkeley School of Law
  • Tyler Ochoa, Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Christopher Schmidt, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • David Schwartz, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Rebecca Tushnet, Georgetown University Law Center

Attendees are eligible for 5.25 hours of IL MCLE. For a full agenda and list of speakers, and to register for SCIPR, visit:

RELATED practices & Industries